Circus in Central Park

Last Sunday was a sunny day so I decided to go to New York City’s Central Park. The bus came on time, no traffic jam on the way and I didn’t have to wait long for the subway to bring me to 5 Av/59 St.

I stepped out of the subway station and as soon as I saw the natural light, the sunshine blinded me. It was beautiful. I haven’t had this exact feeling ever since summer ended. I put on my beloved sunglasses, had a quick look at the Diesel window, picked up a cup of coffee and walked to the Upper East Side entrance of Central Park. This was my very first Central Park experience and it already began so dreamy and perfect.

It was still too cold to sit on the grass so instead I chose a nice looking bench to sit on when all of a sudden a crowd of approximately 30 people were lining up in front of me, in rows of four. What the hell were they going to do?

There was a person sat next to me reading a paper. I couldn’t see his or her face but I was kind of intrigued because this person also covered his head with a baseball cap. Kind of like how you see it in movies when someone spies on someone else.

Then someone with a boom box came from behind a tree and pressed on the play button. Thrift shop blasting out of the speakers, wicked! Check the track below if you don’t know it yet.

So imagine you sitting in the park in Manhattan on a sunny day, right next to an unknown person and a bunch of people standing in front of you. Got it?

Then something like this happened (I didn’t tape it myself because I was totally overwhelmed by all of this energy and weirdness):

Then, out of the blue Sir William Vanderbilt walks by. I know who this is and I should, because I’m a big circus fanatic. Sir William Vanderbilt is one of the most famous lion tamers in the world. Lions are my favourite animals and I love going to the circus, it makes me feel like a little kid again. Of course, he didn’t bring a lion (would’ve been epic though), but he did bring a couple of his fellow circus co-workers. The first one was a juggler. He was so impressive! This guy was huge, I think I could easily fit in his body twice. But yeah, he’s very talented and I think the Big Apple Circus will definitely bring out the best in him and also the other way around. If you have the chance to see this circus, please do, you’re gonna be surprised by their acts for sure.

And then came the clowns. I don’t like clowns so I ran away to the subway, utterly scared they would follow me. I went to have coffee with the person who was sat next to me, you know, the one with the newspaper. He’s also afraid of clowns so he ran away with me simultaneously and his name is Andy Samberg, you may have heard this name before. If you don’t know him yet, meet Andy, a dapper fella known for this:

Alright wonderful people. I think I’ve written enough. Peace out!

This is a message to all gullible people: there’s only one true element in this story, the rest is plastic, people..

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Circus in Central Park

  1. Wow… Het kan in New York!

  2. Sjoerd Geistdorfer says:

    Do I get a prize if I know the one true element?

Leave a Reply

