..And ended up at the embassy

Visa

Wednesday morning I finally had an appointment with the American Consulate in Amsterdam. I am not much of a morning person so I had a tough job waking up. You see, the last year was a very lazy year for me. From January to May I had to go to school but only for 2,5 days a week and no early classes so I could sleep in every day. During the summer and fall my boyfriend and I did home improvements so we could just choose whenever to wake up. This spring semester is going to be hell, every day waking up before the sun even rises.

But yeah, back to the embassy.

I was very nervous because what would they ask? Would they deny my visa application? Did I bring all the necessary documents? Of course, I had to forget something. Proof that I had paid the application fee. For this reason I had to talk with 3 employees instead of 2. And God knows why, but I had my first appointment with the grumpiest employee in the bunch which didn’t make it any easier. This employee, a woman, was cranky and did not even have the decency to greet me. She scared me. I thought all of the employees would be cranky if she was. She took all of the documents and passed them on to the second person. The next two persons whom I talked with were so much more friendly and patient. The second person I spoke with was a bald man and he checked if I had paid all the visa fees. The last person asked me the following 3 questions:

  1. What are you going to do in America?
  2. How are you going to pay all the expenses?
  3. How are you going to keep in touch with family?

So that was that. One hour later, my visa application got approved. And two days later I found my passport along with the J-1 visa on the doormat. Woohoo!

And now, only 8 more nights left in the Netherlands and I still have to do so many things but more importantly, say goodbye to my friends..

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

